PDA

View Full Version : Kernal apps

benh
October 9th, 2006, 21:31
I am currently coding in C and want to write a simple C kernal app, I want to know how to how to write code for access to the nand flash and I also want to know the code for replacing files on the nand flash chip.

Please help!

Davidov
October 9th, 2006, 22:43
you can make your code go into Kernal mode by adding in this line just after the includes and definitions of your main source file:

PSP_MODULE_INFO("Program name", 0x1000, 0, 1);

the 0x1000 is the activator for kernal (replace it with 0 if you intend to make a user mode prog)

In the SDK there is a sample for locking and unlocking the nand flash memory locations. check here (http://forums.ps2dev.org/viewtopic.php?t=3573) for more details on the code you'll need to use.

I am only a part time coder so thats about all I know of kernal mode PSP programming, hope oneday i may have something to release.

Hope that was of some use. :)

benh
October 10th, 2006, 12:46
Thanks for your reply

A couple more questions though

(replace it with 0 if you intend to make a user mode prog)

What do you replace with 0 to make a user mode program?

Just refresh my memory what does user mode do?

Also for example say if i wanted to access the flash1 what would i put to get there would i put like a link to for the memory stick ms0:/psp/game but instead it would be flash1:/vsh?

Thanks for your help so far

msaraiva
October 10th, 2006, 21:17
completely off topic, but why the hell people insist on calling the core of the OS "kernal"? It's KERNEL, for god's sake.

Davidov
October 12th, 2006, 01:22
you replace the '0x1000' with '0'

[ ie: PSP_MODULE_INFO("Program name", 0, 0, 1); will set user mode, where as for KERNEL you would put: PSP_MODULE_INFO("Program name", 0x1000, 0, 1);

Where 0x1000 is the switch thingy, the 0 after the comma is your code's major version number and the 1 in this case is the minor version number (Meaning this is version 0.1) ]