PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to coding and want to understand what "callback" is

Distortional
October 30th, 2006, 22:26
I want to understand all that I put into a piece of code. I can get most other things but this concept. For example - out of the helloworld script here (http://www.psp-programming.com/tutorials/)

/* Exit callback */
int exit_callback(int arg1, int arg2, void *common) {
sceKernelExitGame();
return 0;
}

/* Callback thread */
int CallbackThread(SceSize args, void *argp) {
int cbid;

cbid = sceKernelCreateCallback("Exit Callback", exit_callback, NULL);
sceKernelRegisterExitCallback(cbid);

sceKernelSleepThreadCB();

return 0;
}

/* Sets up the callback thread and returns its thread id */
int SetupCallbacks(void) {
int thid = 0;

thid = sceKernelCreateThread("update_thread", CallbackThread, 0x11, 0xFA0, 0, 0);
if(thid >= 0) {
sceKernelStartThread(thid, 0, 0);
}

return thid;
}

What does that mean?

yaustar
October 30th, 2006, 23:17
Basically setting up a call back means that you tell the program to run a function or some code when a particular event happens such as the player pressing a button or when a length of time has passed.

The alternative is to poll each frame eg, (pseudocode)
if player has pressed x then
do somestuff
end

The problem is with this, you are wasting CPU cycles doing the check each frame. With a callback, the whole thing only gets triggered when the button is pressed. It also allows you to cut dependenices between classes/files/blocks of code making the project more managible especially in a team project.

Distortional
October 31st, 2006, 08:24
Ok, that explains it. So what is the code I posted above telling the program to do?

What's return 0; ?
What's return thid; ?

A thread is a particular piece (thread?) of coding, yes?
And at the top of the coding? What does the "Exitcallback" bit mean? and the Kernalcallback bits?