PDA

View Full Version : Interview with Dark Alex

gunntims0103
November 18th, 2006, 14:57
Translation via dcjoedog (http://homebrewcast.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=94&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=&sid=4549325a17400e566a58d582823bfa35)

Playstation Now Underground : Hello, Alex, first things first, a very big THANKS in the name of all the users in the Scene of PSP for the impressive work that you are doing.

Dark_Alex: Thanks

PSNU: Tell us something about yourself. Age, occupation, interests, etc.

DA: I am 23 years old, I am currently a student in technical engineering in computer science, and as for interests, computer science and cats.

PSNU: What made you interested in programming for the PSP?

DA: Not really sure, I've been programming for devices like it for a while. I remembered that I already programmed in java for mobile phones but that had too many problems, and also for pocket PC, so the following one, for me, was the PSP.

PSNU: In your opinion, what is the present state of the Scene and what is the direction that it must take?

DA: It's good, many interesting things have happened these last few months with the discovery of exploits in 2.5-2.71 and the dawn of custom firmware. I suppose that the direction the scene must take is to keep this momentum, to continue discovering exploits that allow to load unsigned code, to continue decrypting firmwares, etc.

PSNU: Is there something that you wish to do for the PSP but you see that it is not possible at the moment?

DA: I would have liked to do custom firmware without the necessity of bootstrapping it to 1.5, but at the moment it is impossible

PSNU: You can explain to us what is bootstrapping?

DA: Bootstrapping is the starting of the PSP. It begins with the boot-up program that is loading the first modules of firmware, which in turn load the rest of modules as well.

PSNU: Do you think that SONY will make it difficult to decrypt 3.0?