PDA

View Full Version : Can Someone Direct Me?

RiddleN
March 13th, 2007, 00:32
Hey,

I'm a complete noob to DS emulation and the such. I want to make my DS a media/MP3 player, and I've been doing some searching on the topic. Well, I've came up with more questions than answers. There are so many different combinations of cards and carts to use. I need a little guidance.

First off, is this combo a good one?: http://www.gamersection.ca/product_info.php?products_id=229

Other than this, I'm pretty sure I will need a flash card and reader, correct? Will any brand/type of flash card work? What size is recommended? And as far as the card reader....my laptop has a slot for an SD card; is this ok?

Sorry for all the questions. If no one wants to answer me, can someone at LEAST direct me to a step-by-step tutorial or some helpful links?
Thanks in advance.
:)

DanTheManMS
March 13th, 2007, 01:20
You will need a miniSD card to go with that package. I personally use a 2 GB one, as I got it really cheap, but you can get any size really. Many miniSD cards come with a miniSD-to-SD adapter you can use to fit it into your laptop's card reader.

However, what exactly do you want to use your DS for, aside from media? Does GBA homebrew interest you? DS homebrew?

You could potentially get a much cheaper device if you aren't going to use any of the functions that make the M3 Perfect so expensive.

RiddleN
March 13th, 2007, 01:29
Thanks for the info. I found a Sandisk Mini SD card with adapter for $30.99 (shipped.) Is that a good price?

And yes, I am interested in dealing with DS homebrew and playing ROMs, as well as movies and music.

What is a cheaper package (just in case I didn't want to use it for homebrew?)

RiddleN
March 13th, 2007, 01:31
I didn't see an edit function.

The Mini SD card is a 2GB one.

DanTheManMS
March 13th, 2007, 02:21