PDA

View Full Version : Can someone help with A Python App for Last.FM radio?

raid517
March 26th, 2007, 04:44
OK I am trying to take my very first steps in a project to a) learn something about python and b) to get a native Last.FM port running on the Sony PSP.

I am not a programmer by profession. Indeed I think it''s safe to say that I am not a programmer at all. But I am willing to learn - and Python in particular looks to me like it is possibly quite easy to follow. (from looking art a lot of source code)

In any case I looked around and I was happy to find that pretty much all of the work for porting Python to the PSP had already been done.

So as a test I ran it with the below (see attachment) executable. This executable is for LastFM proxy - which is essentially a client for the Last.FM web player music discovery service.

The idea would be to get the proxy client to run on the PSP, then point a small lightweight MP3 player (again on the PSP) to the proxy address in order to tune into the stream. (Nothing more ambitious than this at this time).

In any case I tried to run this executable with the latest Python PSP binary - but unfortunately it was no go.

Now this will prove what a n00b I am, so I am sorry - but I really do want to learn. However I assumed that Python was a common language across different platforms and different architectures, so a binary that runs in Windows, will run in Linux and OSX and so on?

However I have a feeling that perhaps although it may be a common language across platforms, it is not necessarily a common language across different architectures?

Put another way, in order to get the Last.FM Proxy Python executable to run, would I have to cross compile it specifically for a different architecture - one that is in some way specific to the PSP?

How exactly would I go about doing that? (Since I am not even certain what architecture the PSP has?)