PDA

View Full Version : Unofficial MapThis!! (gracefully finished)

atari800
June 1st, 2007, 21:58
This is the unofficial Map This!
Deniska, In7ane, MIB.42 (and maybe others) are the REAL brilliant wizards behind this. There is mind-boggling math in this to interpret coordinates, speed of map movements based on zoom factors, how to rotate a map and point up based on direction you are travelling...blah blah blah
There is no way I could ever come close to trying to develope any of that.
I just added some little features - I am not a C programmer - I got TONS of help from google and the code they provided.

But if you see any of them on the boards - tell them how cool of a program this is and thank them for there pain-staking efforts to create such a project.

Unofficial mapThis!!
It was brought to my attention that this UNOFFICIAL release of mapthis may cause difficulties in the development of the OFFICIAL version
If everybody starts releasing code, it will end-up with lots of independent releases and forks.
Deniska and the crew have been working for a while now and have a routine. Someone submits changes of the code to Deniska, with desciptions and marking of what changes have been done. Deniska checks it out and integrates it if possible or whatever he sees fit. It is his project. And a very cool project at that.

Releasing lots of small independent increments will lead to feature losses due to lack of integration.

So I am removing my versions to keep the REAL MAPTHIS from slowing down development-wise.

I was not asked to remove this - I think it is best for the project if I do.

These guys are great. I will make contributions to Mapthis in the proper way.

*maybe you will see some of my features in upcoming versions

Cheers
:thumbup:
/|\

atari800
June 1st, 2007, 22:02
FYI:
This is working with GPS-290 (dont have anything else to test)
3.40 oe

*I placed this in /psp/game340/mapViewer directory
*provide your own maps

:thumbup:

wraggster
June 1st, 2007, 22:08