PDA

View Full Version : Editing eboot.pbp

Safari Al
June 28th, 2007, 03:27
Listen I am a noob at programing and everything, but i am making a mod for a super mini mario and need to edit the words at the bottom "Remaining Coins" (I think) to say something else. I think i'm supposed to edit data.psp which is apparently the executable file. I tried to edit it with notepad (noob) and got a bunch of random symbols. What can i use to edit this. Thanks

pibs
June 28th, 2007, 03:50
try a hex-editor maybe? ive extracted eboots and compiled them again but never messed with the data.psp and such files.

Safari Al
June 28th, 2007, 05:00
would that allow me to do what i want to do?

splodger15
June 28th, 2007, 06:47
Nope as it is compiled so you cannot see the code

dangee
June 28th, 2007, 16:34
if you edit data.psp, you may need also to edit
the data.psar offset in the eboot header (if data.psp size changes).
~ note "REMAINING COINS" may be IMG, not string ~

SSaxdude
June 28th, 2007, 16:42
Use a .pbp unpacker I think, or hex editor.

Safari Al
June 28th, 2007, 19:11
Hex editor doesn't do anything cause its' only 3 or 4 lines (definately not the whole game) I checked and the "Remaining coins" isn't an image.

Edit: The other thing doesn't realy matter right now but i am having a much bigger problem. Whenever I put in my custom sfx, i get a weird fuzzy sound. How do i fix this? Please help!!!1

dangee
June 28th, 2007, 20:03
most programming languages have string search & replace.
(eg string.gsub() in lua)
so, maybe you could load the data.psp into a string in RAM & gsub() "remaining coins"..

Safari Al
June 28th, 2007, 20:24
srry once again i'm a noob! How do you do what you just said (load data.psp into a "string of RAM?"??? srry

parkermauney
June 28th, 2007, 20:36
Wasn't the source for smm released?

Safari Al
June 28th, 2007, 20:48