PDA

View Full Version : Help with M3 Lite

Huntor99
September 14th, 2007, 07:52
Hey everyone. Please don't immediately bash me for not using the search function, or look up other ways of information. I did. I'm just looking for some help.

I'm currently thinking about buying an M3 Lite, Passcard 3, Micro SD, etc. for my Nintendo DS lite. I want to be able to put games, media, and other stuff on my Nintendo DS. Now I am completely new to all this, and I'm not the greatest computer/hacking person when it comes to knowing terms like flashing, homebrew and stuff like that. I'm not completely oblivious to some of this stuff but I may ask what an abbreviation is here and there.

Anyway, since I'm thinking of getting and M3 Lite and Passkey, I have a few questions about it:

If I get M3 Lite, Passkey 3, Micro SD, and a MicroSD reader is that all I need to start tranferring media, music and games? Or do I need to do that thing when I unscrew the back of the DS and "Flash" it?

Assuming I have all the hardware (M3 lite, MicroSD, etc.), how do I put my games on the MicroSD so I can play the games without the actual cartridge? I think they're called ROMs?

Do I just use a folder and put all downloaded material on there and then onto the SD card? Is it more complicated than that? Are there other programs I will need like emulators, Moonshell, or anything like that?

My question may seem very vague and very naive. I think all I need is a solid step-by-step guide on how to do all this. Can anyone refer one to me? I would appreciate it greatly.

Please help :D. Thank you for your time.

Huntor99
September 15th, 2007, 08:27
Can someone please help me D:

DanTheManMS
September 16th, 2007, 08:06
That package will be all you need to start running homebrew applications. Flashing is entirely optional, and if you do it then you won't need to use the Passcard 3 in the future, which is convenient. You need it at least once to launch the flashme.nds file however.