Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Where do i start?

DCEmu Newbie

Default Where do i start?

ok i am totally new to thye porting of emulation. The only experiance i have of emulation is that of using the project 64 and the virtual boy advance programmes. I am planning to buy a psp but here is a question.
    Do i have to buy a special kind of psp to play emulators?
    also do i need to purchase specific stuff to get my emulators running?
    and last. Can someone please give me a good explanation of how to do it all from scratch?
    Thanks please do reply...

you need to have a 1.5 firmware you can downgrade from 2.0 and 2.5/2.6 if you buy a psp yours could come ta 082 motherboard which means you cant downgrade and it may come installed with factory firmware installed at 2.6 already

in other words... practicly all psps found in a store... can't... try ebay..

or you can get any psp... and use the mod chip

DCEmu Old Pro

u are a smart noob checking before going i had to return my psp and a new one for not checking so here goes this is what you need

A PSP installed with firmware 1.50,1.51.1.52
    P.S. It can have firmware 2.0,2.5,2.6 also but u got a risk of the psp being a ta-082 mother board so go for the 1.5 1.51 and 1.52

heres some ropes

WHATS FIRMWARE?

firmware is the operating system of ure psp hence youll have diffrent versions of it kinda like windows 98 200 xp ya ya

WHY DO WE AIM FOR A LOWER ONE?

well according to sony the programs you see here are illegal (pssh ya its gay isnt it?) sony had implemented security measures on the 1.51 and higher and no emulators or programs will be able to run (not at full speed anyway)

I HAVE 1.51,1.52 yada yada HOW THE HELL CAN I GET IT DOWN?

currently there are two downgraders the 2.0 and 2.6 downgraders i suggest the 2.0 one to be better than 2.60 but meh it doesnt really matter get your psp updated to one of these firmwares via www.psphacks.com look for the firmware dumps