Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Sora death sprites and RAM question

                  
   
  1. #1
    DCEmu Legend gunntims0103's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Brentwood, NY
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,976
    Rep Power
    112

    Thumbs up Sora death sprites and RAM question

    MexicanSnake and i currently need the Sora death sprites (Sprites of Sora actually dieing). As of right now Sora is currently unable to die. Also a nice health bar that someone could put together would also be smashing.

    I decided to pick development back up again. Though im still only running internet off of my Nintendo Wii and brothers Labtop, i still feel i can get some things done for a pubplic release (A private beta is out on developer forums only )

    As soon as i get in contact with MexicanSnake and have what i need, we can hopefully get some things out of the way. As its been so long since development was actually in motion. I might be entering Sora Adventure in that new Coding compotition, but im not sure yet.........

    Also MexicanSnake has made it clear to me that we have have a bit of a RAM issue and we have to open up some RAM to continue developing. I don't know much about this issue since while i dev i never ran into this issue (most likely because i never had so much images bliting at the same time). Im sure MexicanSnake will go more into detail with this.

    Video of current progress- http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/sho...sora+adventure

    Development Thread- http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/sho...sora+adventure

    Private Beta (Those who can access it)- http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/sho...sora+adventure

    Im off to play Fifa 07, if anyone can help with this i would really appreciate it. Anyone have a online account on Fifa 07 for PSP and wish to challenge me just give me the heads up so i can whip your behind

    Thanks all

  2. #2
    LUA Coder D0N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    863
    Rep Power
    78

    Default

    Hey Gunntims, long time no speak. Just wondering, am i still in the team? If so, I'm still willing to help out.

    Sora Death Sprites attatched below. Enjoy!

  3. #3
    DCEmu Coder PSPKOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    England
    Age
    36
    Posts
    184
    Rep Power
    70

    Default

    Sounds great. I liked the Beta, feels like a nice running game.

    I had quite a few issues with RAM on my Bruce Lee game, which I fixed up, so if you need any help with that I would be more than happy to help (If its the image loading error).
    LEARN, MASTER and ACHIEVE!!
    'Bruce Lee'

  4. #4
    DCEmu Legend gunntims0103's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Brentwood, NY
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,976
    Rep Power
    112

    Default

    Sweet DON, Thanks for the death sprites.

    PSPKOR, as soon as mexicansnake post what the exact problem is on this "RAM" issue. Ill definitly give you a shout out for ideas on a fix.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    DCEmu Reviewer Shadowblind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    PR:SB End
    Posts
    3,796
    Rep Power
    115

    Default

    RAM... Wouldn' that be fixed just only loading the image when its needed, instead of loading all the images first and then using them as they come? I don't know how'd you go about doing that, but if its memory that you need that'll probably work.

    Idunno, im guessing the RAM your talking about is like computer RAM.

  6. #6
    DCEmu Coder PSPKOR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    England
    Age
    36
    Posts
    184
    Rep Power
    70

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowblind View Post
    RAM... Wouldn' that be fixed just only loading the image when its needed, instead of loading all the images first and then using them as they come? I don't know how'd you go about doing that, but if its memory that you need that'll probably work.

    Idunno, im guessing the RAM your talking about is like computer RAM.
    Well you have to load all the images at the start of the script, otherwise if you try to load the image only when you need it theres a BIG slow down in the game, as its loading it.

    But the trouble comes because every time you exit a script and load another the RAM still keeps every thing you've loaded in the previous script. So to get out of this you have to get rid of the images and sounds etc. from the RAM on exiting each script.

    Its quite easy to do so just give me a shout when you need it doing and I'll tell you how.
    LEARN, MASTER and ACHIEVE!!
    'Bruce Lee'

  7. #7
    LUA Coder D0N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    863
    Rep Power
    78

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gunntims0103 View Post
    Sweet DON, Thanks for the death sprites.

    PSPKOR, as soon as mexicansnake post what the exact problem is on this "RAM" issue. Ill definitly give you a shout out for ideas on a fix.

    Thanks
    No problem. So does this mean I'm still working with you then?

  8. #8
    DCEmu Legend Buddy4point0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Lounge Awesomeness: 1337
    Age
    33
    Posts
    4,026
    Rep Power
    139

    Default

    ok do you guys still have this problem?
    cause if you do there is an easy fix.

    it would go something like this

    function cleanup()
    image1 = nil
    image2 = nil
    image3 = nil
    collectcarbage()
    end

    ...

    cleanup()

  9. #9
    DCEmu Regular factor remix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Panama
    Age
    32
    Posts
    278
    Rep Power
    69

    Default

    I have found this...

    Attachment 18610

    EDIT: You allready have it... lol

  10. #10

    Default

    This looks VERY nice. I would +rep you, but we must wait.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •