Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Genesis Plus DC WIP Release Bug Report

Default Genesis Plus DC WIP Release Bug Report

Okay. Time to edit this thread and to take out the list I had posted here, as nearly all previous bugs are already fixed with the latest test release of GenesisPlusDC.

BlackAura posted some rules for reporting bugs in this thread as he's aware of most problems that currently need to be fixed.

[quote author=BlackAura link=board=news;num=1088145972;start=0#13 date=06/26/04 at 03:08:45]If it's about graphics glitches, don't bother with a bug report. I'm aware of the issues with the video emulation, and most of it is because of the way the video emulation is designed. I knew what kind of problems it would cause before I started programming it, and some of them will be fixed. Others might not be, because they'll just slow the emulator down too much, or them might not even be possible.

The main problems are:
    No interlaced graphics mode (Sonic 2 multiplayer)
    No 2-column scrolling mode (Rocket Knight Adventures, second stage)
    No mid-frame palette changes (any Sonic game with underwater bits)
    No per-line horizontal scrolling (stairstep effect)
    No shadow/hilight effects (shadows appear white)
    Sprite / background priorities are wrong

As far as I know, there's actually only one real bug in the video emulation, which is the corruption you get on sprites in some games. I know exactly what's causing that, but I don't know how to fix it yet.

I don't want to hear about sound skipping either. I'm working on fixing that now.

If it's a game actually crashing the emulator, I do want to hear about it. If a game does something really wrong (gameplay, not the graphics), or it's really slow without sound (like Zero Wing), or some of the timers / counters are screwed up, or there's something else really wrong with it, tell me.[/quote]

DCEmu Coder

Default Re: Genesis Plus DC WIP Release Bug Report