Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 61

Thread: Marfitude SDL

                  
   
  1. #31
    DCEmu Oldbie Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,506
    Rep Power
    83

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    I think the game looks great. The point of the cover though was to make a Dreamcast original game type of thing. Kind of like a competition even though the system is dead. I like original ideas even though things are ported over. I do like the fact that every or most ports use the name and then DC after the ports name. Makes it appealing to the downloaders and makes it more professional. I know DCemu is for fun and what the coders do is for fun aswell i just want to add a suggestion for things to see what can make DCemu more of an interesting place. Nobody has to use them if they dont want but 4 or 5 projects in the scene have had an interesting touch from my brain to your system of course all work being done by the coders cause i have no clue what to do there. I am about fun and about fun for gamers and its cause of DCemu and the coders congradulations.

    Eric

  2. #32
    DCEmu Coder GPF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    53
    Posts
    796
    Rep Power
    82

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    [quote author=Mekanaizer link=board=homebrew;num=1108983656;start=15#26 date=02/25/05 at 06:27:54]Hi, GPF

    Look for code lines like this:
    ...
    if( ! (buffer = SDL_SetVideoMode(320, 200, 32, SDL_SWSURFACE)) Â*)
    ...

    if you see 16 or 8 change it to 32 like the code line above.

    in all my alpha-blending examples 32 (color deep) works best, 16 may work too but it need extra work in the code for DC (or some PC gfx-cards)

    -Mekanaizer-[/quote]


    Unfortunetly its not that easy since Im using OpenGL , the problem is in the texture loading Also. Since it uses png I have to be able to load the pngs with png_to_img using PNG_FULL_ALPHA, PNG_MASK_ALPHA(which i think is broken) and PNG_NONE_ALPHA and then load those textures using

    glKosTex2D(GL_ARGB4444_TWID, img.w, img.h, txaddr);
    or
    glKosTex2D(GL_ARGB1555_TWID, img.w, img.h, txaddr);
    or
    glKosTex2D(GL_RGB565_TWID, img.w, img.h, txaddr);

    In the original code, it load the graphics up as an SDL_image and then converts them to what ever the background is setup for RGB or RGBA etc.

    I have written a custon png loader so I can get the #of channels, rowstride and w,h before i load them so I can perhaps select the correct loading method.

    but once I am actually displaying the bouncing star or what every it on the screen.

    I think I have to set it up differently. Again my OpenGL skill or nil so i dont know how to set up transperancy when I render the image.

    I think it has something to do with this call
    glColor4f(1.0, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0);

    Other biggest problem , is that I can't play more than one mod file, attempting to retry or selecting another song blows up in the KGLX displaylist code, I think its related to the fact that there is no gldeletelist function and when it goes to create more its running out of available displaylists. but I could be wrong.

    Troy

  3. #33
    DCEmu Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Haiti
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    From what i found out, in openGL the transparency uses a 4th color as alpha. so:

    glColor4f(1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0);


    All i found is that 1.0 is an opaque color and 0.0 is completely transparent.

    Anyway maybe having a look there could give you some ideas.

    http://nehe.gamedev.net/data/lessons....asp?lesson=08

    Vamps,

  4. #34
    DCEmu Coder GPF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    53
    Posts
    796
    Rep Power
    82

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    [quote author=VampiricS link=board=homebrew;num=1108983656;start=30#32 date=02/27/05 at 21:18:03]From what i found out, in openGL the transparency uses a 4th color as alpha. so:




    All i found is that 1.0 is an opaque color and 0.0 is completely transparent.

    Anyway maybe having a look there could give you some ideas.

    http://nehe.gamedev.net/data/lessons....asp?lesson=08

    Vamps,[/quote]

    Yeah thats what i figured but i cant get it to work. I think it has to do with the way you have to send stuff to the pvr inorder to do transparency.

    Iv implemented glDeleteLists, so now i am able to play a couple of different mods now. I need to try compiling the SDL_mixer included with the marf source so mods that play on the pc version are not playing on the dc, right now im using the default SDL_mixer thats with KOS.

    Still have the problem with the background disappearing, but its still fun to play with just the notes showing .

    Troy

  5. #35
    DCEmu Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Haiti
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    Nice to see that you even enjoy the game yourself now hehe,always less of an hassle when you enjoy what you're working on. I was thinking about some trick that we could use if the texture and transparency never work hehe. Was wondering if it was possible to just had some kind of static background without having blitting problem, kindda like to fake the tracks and to give some kind of GUI to the top part where the score is and name of the song. As long as it's at least playing well, the rest could be just to make it look different..

    Was thinking about maybe having a Dreamcast shooting the notes hehe, since the DC is a square, it could at least save us from using transparency for it could make the game looks like REZ but with a DC instead of a character hehe.

    Well i guess i could do a mock-up of it if you're interested in doing it that way, if the transparency and texture disapearing can't be solved later, just let me know in private message or something.

  6. #36
    DCEmu Coder GPF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    53
    Posts
    796
    Rep Power
    82

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    [quote author=VampiricS link=board=homebrew;num=1108983656;start=30#34 date=02/28/05 at 14:49:58]Nice to see that you even enjoy the game yourself now hehe,always less of an hassle when you enjoy what you're working on. I was thinking about some trick that we could use if the texture and transparency never work hehe. Was wondering if it was possible to just had some kind of static background without having blitting problem, kindda like to fake the tracks and to give some kind of GUI to the top part where the score is and name of the song. As long as it's at least playing well, the rest could be just to make it look different..

    Was thinking about maybe having a Dreamcast shooting the notes hehe, since the DC is a square, it could at least save us from using transparency for it could make the game looks like REZ but with a DC instead of a character hehe.

    Well i guess i could do a mock-up of it if you're interested in doing it that way, if the transparency and texture disapearing can't be solved later, just let me know in private message or something.
    [/quote]

    Yeah thats always a possibility

    Well I tried to use your graphics again and they look alot better now, but for some reason your title.png graphic is missing half the graphic, or maybe it was done for a reason i dont know.

    Troy

  7. #37
    DCEmu Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Haiti
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    Well, about the title.png, if it looks like on the screenshot i posted on page 1 of this thread,it was intended to be like that,it has a top left corner fade effect to it, but i guess that if the transparency isn't working, maybe it looks like if it was cut even more in half . And there was a place where i had to make a little space with nothing on it because the game is displaying a little box for the menu. Maybe the box isn't displayed on the port right now.

    Do you already have it writting the .cfg file to vmu and have it reading it? If you're planning on using the initial modification i can always do a version of the title.png that isn't using any fade in it if it looks better. How is the new target.png looking now?If you have some time, would be nice to see a screenshot of it to know what i could do to make it look better (try making one where we see the title.png as well if possible). Could it be possible that Chankast isn't displaying stuffcorrectlyas well but could be different on the Dreamcast directly?

  8. #38
    DCEmu Coder GPF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    53
    Posts
    796
    Rep Power
    82

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    [quote author=VampiricS link=board=homebrew;num=1108983656;start=30#36 date=02/28/05 at 22:06:56]Well, about the title.png, if it looks like on the screenshot i posted on page 1 of this thread,it was intended to be like that,it has a top left corner fade effect to it, but i guess that if the transparency isn't working, maybe it looks like if it was cut even more in half . And there was a place where i had to make a little space with nothing on it because the game is displaying a little box for the menu. Maybe the box isn't displayed on the port right now.

    Do you already have it writting the .cfg file to vmu and have it reading it? If you're planning on using the initial modification i can always do a version of the title.png that isn't using any fade in it if it looks better. How is the new target.png looking now?If you have some time, would be nice to see a screenshot of it to know what i could do to make it look better (try making one where we see the title.png as well if possible). Could it be possible that Chankast isn't displaying stuffcorrectlyas well but could be different on the Dreamcast directly?[/quote]

    yes its reading and writing to the vmu now its hardcoded for /vmu/a1



    i moved the menu text down because the title.png file was hiding the menu, as you can see the layer work differently on the dreamcast so stuff is on top that should be behind the title screen.

    Troy

  9. #39
    DCEmu Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Haiti
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    Ok great, i think i will be able to trick the graphics to make it looks ok now.
    Just some needed stuff to know:

    - from what i see all the text layer areon top of everything huh?
    - do you think we can use a title.png that cover the whole screen? and if so is the resolution 640*480?
    - right now i will chane all the background of the different images to black, should at least look better since the background is black in-game.

    I will post the updated image pack tonight.

    **update **

    Since there was some comments on the cd cover and name,due to copyrights or whatever, here's the new cd cover i came up with:

    CD cover


    Cd Label


    Now, GPF, i made a new "title.png'", i tried it in the original PC version and it seems that it's limited to a specific size. but i guess you could modify it's source to fit the whole screen. So here's a mock-up of what it's suppose to look like:

    Menu (Start menu)


    In-game


    Ok so i am adding black background to all the seperated sprites for the game now,so the issues in-game should be less visible. The new package should be available here soon.

  10. #40
    DCEmu Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Haiti
    Posts
    87
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Marfitude SDL

    Ok the new graphic modifications are ready:

    http://jove.prohosting.com/gabou/Marfitude_DC.zip

    So in that package here's the modifications:

    - No more Amplitude space ship, now it's a floating DC
    - Tracks have been streamlined and don't use texturing anymore, this is hiding most of the gfx issues.
    - New menu is in (needs GPF to make is display full screen)
    - Every single object have a black background, so should blend easier with the already black background.

    I know it's not good like a commercial professionally made stuff but some tweaks were needed to get it working on DC. Should makes it good enough tho.

    Now i am waiting for GPF to know if stuff is working or not, the i can see what i can refine.

    P.S.: @ GPF : How about removing the Quit option from the menu, anyway it's doing nothing good on the DC version Oh and is it just me or the 'notes' on the dc version are just showing in plain white? Oh and feel free to tell me if what i did is ok , i wanted to do something looking different but i had no real ideas so far hehe.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •