Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: DC cluster?

                  
   
  1. #1
    DCEmu Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Co. Down, Northern Ireland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    854
    Rep Power
    67

    Default DC cluster?

    I was just wondering, if we had a bunch of DCs all with BBAs, would it be possible to set them up in a cluster to allow mega processing power? I know its not really of any great use to anyone, but could a prog be written that splits the data off to each individual DC for processing and then they all send it back to that DC, which then puts out to the tv? just wonderin, its'd be good, just to say it was done, if nothing else.

  2. #2
    Dream Coder
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,675
    Rep Power
    50

    Default Re: DC cluster?

    Yes. I dont know how its done with Naomis but they can do it. Theoretically DCs could do it even if NAOMIs couldnt do it on their own, but the fact that there is a way shows it can be done.
    If anyone is looking to buy, sell, trade games and support a developer directly at the same time, consider joining Goozex. Enjoy!

  3. #3
    DCEmu Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Co. Down, Northern Ireland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    854
    Rep Power
    67

    Default Re: DC cluster?

    Now we'll get the emu's running at full speed ;D

  4. #4
    DCEmu Oldbie Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,506
    Rep Power
    71

    Default Re: DC cluster?

    it could be a possibility but people want to get emulation working fullspeed on a one system i dont think coders nor Dcemu want people to get fullspeed having 10 dreamcasts connected to each other to get emulation fullspeed although neat very expensive

  5. #5
    DCEmu Pro
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Co. Down, Northern Ireland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    854
    Rep Power
    67

    Default Re: DC cluster?

    I was being funny eric, dont take everything I say too literally!

  6. #6
    DCEmu Oldbie Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,506
    Rep Power
    71

    Default Re: DC cluster?

    lol i thought you were being serious i dont know man some people are kinda weird

  7. #7

    Default Re: DC cluster?

    Heh, I've been wondering and studying the exact same thing for some time now.

    Instead of using the expensive adapters for the dc; has anyone been able to to connect a pci ethernet card to the parallel port instead? I've seen bitmaster's work but I'd assume it would be easier and faster to run just the pci.

    I'm only taking elte classes in college right now so I don't know much about what ICs to use to do this and such, anyone else working on this sort of thing?

  8. #8
    DCEmu Coder
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Three rivers, ca
    Posts
    190
    Rep Power
    63

    Default Re: DC cluster?

    There were just isa ethernet cards ever connected to the parallel port of the dc, the biggest trouble to connect pci stuff on it is that the dc port is only 16 bits wide (running a pci at 25Mhz is ok).
    But it certainly can be done since the BBA contains a realtek 8139 which is a pci chip (maybe it doesn't use 32 bit transfers ? I'll check that)

    Well in fact if you want to build a dc cluster, just connect'em together on their parallel interfaces (with some control logic of course).

  9. #9

    Default Re: DC cluster?

    I see what you mean, what does the dreamcast parallel port run at btw, mhz wise? I know I could pull out some hardware and test it myself but it's easier to ask if someone already knows. ^^;

    I see how it would be much easier to connect them together in this way, it would seem much more useful to somehow connect this to a computer and have it manage data or something.

    Perhaps build a hub that all the dreamcasts could connect to and then some way to connect it a single computer? Staying away from ethernet altogether.

    Sorry if I sound too optimistic, I currently have no actual understanding of how processing can be shared between multiple devices when programming is concerned; the logic is about as far as I've gone.

  10. #10
    DCEmu Legend Cap'n 1time's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Right behind you...
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,547
    Rep Power
    108

    Default Re: DC cluster?

    its cool, but its kinda pointless... unless you want some kind of clustered linux server.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •