Page 18 of 43 FirstFirst ... 814151617181920212228 ... LastLast
Results 171 to 180 of 427

Thread: M68K for DC

                  
   
  1. #171
    DCEmu Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Posts
    194
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    Sweet, excellent work Troy. Looks like GCC 3.4.0 isn't as likely to break code. If you can compile ym2612.c with any optimizations at all, and the rest with -O2 or even -O3, I think speed would improve quite a bit with frameskip.

  2. #172
    DCEmu Coder GPF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    53
    Posts
    796
    Rep Power
    82

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    I made a mistake when I compiled the ym2612.c file, I forgot a space so was ignoring the optimization parameter. I was only able to do up to -O1 for it.

    for c68kexec.c file I was only able to do up to -O2, I believe I could do -O3 but I don't have enough memory -384 MB.

    Everything else was at -O3.

    The musashi speed was between 19-21 FPS while the c68k was around 26-28 fps.

    Troy

  3. #173

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    [quote author=GPF link=board=dcemu;num=1083323639;start=165#171 date=06/08/04 at 11:15:27]The musashi speed was between 19-21 FPS while the c68k was around 26-28 fps.[/quote]

    That's just great! I can't wait to see a release of GenesisPlusDCv02 Â*;D


    I'd like to thank you all for your outstanding work for the DC scene


    Chris

  4. #174
    DCEmu Coder
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    80
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    Thanks for your report
    I'll post my report with GCC 3.0.4 soon, then we will be able to compare generated code versus GCC 3.4.0

    I'll use Sonic 1 as test rom, FPS will be taken from in-game where you start level 1, without touching controller.

    [quote author=GPF link=board=dcemu;num=1083323639;start=165#171 date=06/08/04 at 11:15:27]I made a mistake when I compiled the ym2612.c file, I forgot a space so was ignoring the optimization parameter. I was only able to do up to -O1 for it.
    [/quote]

    Strange, this file compile fine with -O2 and-O3 with GCC 3.0.4 ... weird it looks like all my sources files act strangely with GCC.

    for c68kexec.c file I was only able to do up to -O2, I believe I could do -O3 but I don't have enough memory -384 MB.

    Everything else was at -O3.

    The musashi speed was between 19-21 FPS while the c68k was around 26-28 fps.

    Troy

    19-21 FPS versus 26-28 FPS ?
    so much ? without frame skip ?
    maybe -O2 perform really better than -Os for C68K.
    Actually even musashi work better with -O2 with GCC 3.0.4 than -O3...

    You should also try to compile with -Os flag for all, it almost time give best results

  5. #175
    DCEmu Coder
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    227
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    Stef - I have a thread over on the other DCEmu about possibly using the Dreamcast's PowerVR hardware to do accelerated rendering. Since you know more about the Genesis VDP than anyone here, any ideas would be appreciated.

    At the moment, I'm not going to attempt to implement every little quirk of the VDP, nor all possible mode. Just enough to start displaying some graphics on screen, to see if it's worth trying to do a full hardware-based VDP emulator.

  6. #176
    DCEmu Coder
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    80
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    [quote author=BlackAura link=board=dcemu;num=1083323639;start=165#174 date=06/08/04 at 15:50:20]Stef - I have a thread over on the other DCEmu about possibly using the Dreamcast's PowerVR hardware to do accelerated rendering. Since you know more about the Genesis VDP than anyone here, any ideas would be appreciated.

    At the moment, I'm not going to attempt to implement every little quirk of the VDP, nor all possible mode. Just enough to start displaying some graphics on screen, to see if it's worth trying to do a full hardware-based VDP emulator.[/quote]

    Yeah i know
    But i'm currently at my job and i prefer to take my time to reply to your topic, there is many points to see and talk about
    I'll reply right after i'm back to home


  7. #177
    DCEmu Coder GPF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    53
    Posts
    796
    Rep Power
    82

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    [quote author=Stef link=board=dcemu;num=1083323639;start=165#173 date=06/08/04 at 14:26:08]
    I'll use Sonic 1 as test rom, FPS will be taken from in-game where you start level 1, without touching controller.[/quote]

    If I do that the FPS is 30 - 31 for c68k. Unfortunetly I didn't save the m68k elf file, I have to rebuild it tonight to test it for that test case.

    19-21 FPS versus 26-28 FPS ?
    so much ? without frame skip ?
    maybe -O2 perform really better than -Os for C68K.
    Actually even musashi work better with -O2 with GCC 3.0.4 than -O3....
    How do I turn on frame skip?

    You should also try to compile with -Os flag for all, it almost time give best results
    I give that a try to tonight.

    I can compile it at work, and post it up somewhere if someone wants to test it with a coders cable, so you can report the FPS back here today.

    Troy

  8. #178
    DCEmu Coder
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    227
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    GPF - What compiler are you using - GCC 3.0.x or something else? I have 512MB of RAM on my main machine, so I could try compiling it.

    That seems like an unbelievable difference in speed. If the version of GP/DC that Stef's working on has the same settings that it did last time I saw it, the frameskip is hard-coded to 1. If the frameskip were 0, I'd expect both the FPS numbers to be the same.

    Stef - Take your time - there's no rush. I've been reading up on the VDP and the SH-4 (along with a bit about the PVR, but I'm not too worried about that yet), trying to work out how to actually try to do it anway. I'm getting the impression that it's going to be quite tricky to get right, but the same is true of a software-based VDP emulator. Last time I tried that, I got about as far as emulating the VDP<->68K interface and (badly) displaying some sprites.

    Oh, and I managed to get the GUI code working again. I'm just not sure if it's worth keeping. I can think of a much better way to do it now, especially having seen SMS Plus and Super Famicast.

  9. #179
    DCEmu Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Posts
    194
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    [quote author=BlackAura link=board=dcemu;num=1083323639;start=165#177 date=06/08/04 at 16:53:18]GPF - What compiler are you using - GCC 3.0.x or something else? I have 512MB of RAM on my main machine, so I could try compiling it.[/quote]He's using GCC 3.4.0, which seems to let him compile at different optimization levels vs people using 3.0.4. Of course, RAM limitations can always make compiling stuff a PITA.

    Troy, what kind of RAM do you use? I think I've got a 256MB stick of SDRAM around here, but its either PC100 or PC133.
    [quote author=BlackAura link=board=dcemu;num=1083323639;start=165#177 date=06/08/04 at 16:53:18]Oh, and I managed to get the GUI code working again. I'm just not sure if it's worth keeping. I can think of a much better way to do it now, especially having seen SMS Plus and Super Famicast.[/quote]Keep it until you have a replacement, no point in stripping it out before the next release if there's nothing else. I'd rather you guys worked on more important things, which you are, which rocks.

  10. #180
    DCEmu Coder GPF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    53
    Posts
    796
    Rep Power
    82

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    [quote author=Alexvrb link=board=dcemu;num=1083323639;start=165#178 date=06/08/04 at 19:43:21]
    He's using GCC 3.4.0, which seems to let him compile at different optimization levels vs people using 3.0.4. Of course, RAM limitations can always make compiling stuff a PITA. [/quote]

    Thats the truth .
    I have the complete 3.4.0 toolchain in a rar thats about 10 megs for both gcc and g++, for mingw. but my storm-studios site seems to be down right now.

    Troy, what kind of RAM do you use? I think I've got a 256MB stick of SDRAM around here, but its either PC100 or PC133.
    I use pc133, on my athlon 700 .

    Thanks,
    Troy

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •