Page 37 of 43 FirstFirst ... 27333435363738394041 ... LastLast
Results 361 to 370 of 427

Thread: M68K for DC

                  
   
  1. #361
    Dream Coder
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,675
    Rep Power
    50

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    By the fact that you just called it 'the new Sh4', at least i can infer that you have no actual basis for those statements other than loose conjecture of what you think things mean.

    Not to say that it may not be true, its just that you arn't the one in a position to be making statements like that.

    edit: damn, i posted this like an hour ago, but forgot to hit send :-X alex beat me to it =P.
    If anyone is looking to buy, sell, trade games and support a developer directly at the same time, consider joining Goozex. Enjoy!

  2. #362
    DCEmu Rookie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Warren,Mi
    Posts
    122
    Rep Power
    77

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    well geez sorry if I gave coders what a "FAN" of emulation would like. its true though, if a new sms plus came out I honestly wouldn't care for it.the reason is because its perfect enough for me to enjoy, I don't care for FM sound cuz sms sound has too much HIGH PITCH in it., but having played the actual sms I don't see a difference. I care if a nester version comes out because the control lag was bad and the button setup sucked for games like "track and field" or "american gladiators" not to say those are find titles but I play them now and again cuz hey, I love the gray box. Neo cd is nice if we had sound fx in it, I would be happy but like you guys say Coders want what coders want. oh well that said back to playing mega man and bass on my GBA SP.

  3. #363
    DCEmu Coder fox68k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    100
    Rep Power
    76

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    Since looks like everybody is talking about the speed of the cores, i took a moment to do a speed test. 8)

    First, you have to take in account the core is not completed, and i have not done any optimization yet, so consider it as VERY PRELIMINARY, only to have a light idea about performance.

    The program chosen is the following. It is a simple program to calculate prime numbers:

    main MOVE.L #10,D0 ; first number to analize
    cont ADD.L #1,D0
    BSR prime ; jump to prime routine
    CMP.B #$FF,D4 ; if D4=FFh -> prime number
    BNE cont ; if not prime number, jump to next number

    isprim MOVE.L D0,D5 ; result from routine to D5
    CMP.L #60000,D0 ; if result is greater than 60000 exit program
    BLT cont ; if not, continue

    final BRA.S final


    ************************************************** ******************
    * prime - Returns if the number is prime or not
    * D0 - number to analize (parameter)
    * Returns D4 equal to FFh if prime, otherwise it is not prime
    ************************************************** ******************

    prime MOVE.L #1,D1 ; D1=1

    loop ADD.L #1,D1 ; increment D1
    MOVE.L D0,D3 ; move number to analize to D3
    DIVU D1,D3 ; divide numbers
    ASR.l #8,D3
    ASR.l #8,D3
    CMP.l #0,D3 ; look if remainder is equal to zero
    BNE loop ; if not, continue
    CMP D0,D1
    SEQ D4
    RTS

    END

    Cycle slicing sent to the "emulate" function is 400 (the longer the better because increases throughput).

    I put it inside a for loop and i timed the job with the KOS function timer_ms_gettime.

    The result was a roughly 100 MHz 68000 emulated CPU.

    Anyway emulation speed depends upon several factors and this result could change notably in other circunstances (other instructions, other cycle slicing, etc).

    I read some lines from Stef D saying it could be possible to make a Z80 emulator running at 40/50 MHz in C. I know Z80 and 68K are different, but, again, consider this info carefully to evalute performance.

    Cheers.
    - fox68k -

  4. #364
    DCEmu Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Posts
    351
    Rep Power
    78

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    So your 68 runs at 100 and stef's ran at what?

  5. #365
    DCEmu Coder
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    80
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    I believe C68K speed was ~ 50 Mhz (a bit more) ... so Fox68k ASM core seems to be 2 times faster here.
    But as Fox68k mentionned, comparaison depends on severals factors (here the loop test contains a DIV instruction which eat many cycles on a 68000 CPU)... we should wait for a reals conditions test to be sure about performance... 2 times faster than C68K would be really nice

  6. #366
    DCEmu Dreamcast ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    MadriDC
    Age
    24
    Posts
    402
    Rep Power
    78

    Default Atari ST. And the related M68K cores for DC

    Hi. There was a long time without pass over here. Actually I have a little bit of time more and this is my idea. ;D ;D

    I need somebody Â*8) helping me porting a common ATARI ST emu to the DC. Â*;D

    As I mentioned time ago, the castaway means a nice bet for porting due to the SDL implementation. All GP-32 owners are very happy running the emu with games and progs. Why can't we have a port too ?
    OK the original project is here: http://castaway.sourceforge.net/st.html

    And also a lot of references and docs about the Atari ST.

    My Idea is: Make a port called DCaSTaway, but the most important challenge is to use the cores developed in this thread. Our team had not success because all of our were really busy, so, this is a great opportunity for a nice autum, running ATARI ST on DC with your M68K CORES.

    Also there are more opensource ATARI ST emus that can be easily ported to the DC, our conclusions between HATARI, ARANYM, CASTAWAY, STonX, PacifiST, STeem, WindSTon, and others was castaway due to the SDL. Most of them uses Open68K core, thats the key of the project. I have readed that your cores can accurate 100 Mhz.

    Tech DATA:

    The ATARI 520 ST. CPU M68000 at 7,8336 Mhz.
    RAM 512 Kb + 192 Kb ROM
    Video: 640 X 400. Monochrome 320 X 200. 16 colours. 640 X 200. 4 Colours
    Sound. AY-3-8910 3 Channel FM
    3 1/2 " Floppy Disk Drive , 320 & 720 Kb
    Expansion : Midi In / Out. Centronics, Serial, Floppy, HD, Mouse and Joystick

    NAME Â* 520 / 1040 STf / STfm
    MANUFACTURER Â* Atari
    TYPE Â* Home Computer
    ORIGIN Â* U.S.A.
    YEAR Â* 1986
    KEYBOARD Â* Full stroke keyboard with numeric keypad, editing keypad and 10 function keys
    CPU Â* Motorola MC 68000
    SPEED Â* 8 mHz
    RAM Â* 512 KB (up to 4 MB)
    ROM Â* 32 KB with TOS on disk / 192 KB with TOS on ROM
    TEXT MODES Â* 40 or 80 chars. x 25 lines (bitmapped graphics)
    GRAPHIC MODES Â* 16 colors among 512 (320 x 200) / 4 colors among 512 (640 x 200) / monochrome (640 x 400) this last mode needs a special monitor.
    COLORS Â* max. 512
    SOUND Â* 3 voices + 1 noise channel, 8 octaves (Yamaha YM-2149)
    I/O PORTS Â* Cartridge, Midi (in, out), Centronics, RS232c, Hard Disk, Floppy disk, RGB, Joystick, mouse
    BUILT IN MEDIA Â* 3.5'' disk-drive
    OS Â* TOS + GEM


    More info: Â* http://linuxgazette.net/issue73/arndt.html
    http://www.lowendmac.com/clones/atari.html
    http://www.atarimuseum.com/computers...nu/atarist.htm
    http://www.atari-st.lovely.net/

    THANK YOU
    SH4 Risc LittleEndian

  7. #367
    DCEmu Dreamcast ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    MadriDC
    Age
    24
    Posts
    402
    Rep Power
    78

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    SH4 Risc LittleEndian

  8. #368
    Dream Coder
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,675
    Rep Power
    50

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    iirc 138 is already working on a port of CaSTaway.

    what ever happened to the m68k core you were working on?
    If anyone is looking to buy, sell, trade games and support a developer directly at the same time, consider joining Goozex. Enjoy!

  9. #369
    DCEmu Dreamcast ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    MadriDC
    Age
    24
    Posts
    402
    Rep Power
    78

    Default Re: M68K for DC

    The idea didn't go ahead , we had not enough time and were very busy, actually i'm impressed about the work you have done. I'm glad to see that iirc138 is working on the castaway port, anyway congratulations for maintaining this thread with lots of hours of great works and thank you .

    Can you please give us more information about that port of onethirtyeight ? Your info is really appreciated
    SH4 Risc LittleEndian

  10. #370
    DCEmu Dreamcast ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    MadriDC
    Age
    24
    Posts
    402
    Rep Power
    78

    Default M68K for DC

    Congratulations Stef, I know your core is just AMAZING !!!!! should be nice to have your core running on a computer emu for DC.
    SH4 Risc LittleEndian

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •