Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38

Thread: N64 Emulator for DC?

                  
   
  1. #21
    DCEmu Newbie WSOUNitePirate895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    70
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    what about converting a ROM to ISO? is that even possibile, sure it be a hell of a coding process but could it be done? I am guessing you will need to grab the roms, and reconstruct them if you can load it all and cut it into pieces for the DC to read it might work.

  2. #22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WSOUNitePirate895
    what about converting a ROM to ISO? is that even possibile, sure it be a hell of a coding process but could it be done? I am guessing you will need to grab the roms, and reconstruct them if you can load it all and cut it into pieces for the DC to read it might work.
    That is really the soultion to all the problems but not possible (yet!!!), to do such a thing would surely require the game rom source before attempting anything. ROM streaming has been explored in the past without any posted positive results anywhere on the web, who knows, it might happen one day - who'd have thought Microsoft making a game console to compete with Nintendo and Sony back in 1995?.

  3. #23
    DCEmu Newbie WSOUNitePirate895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    70
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DCDayDreamer
    who'd have thought Microsoft making a game console to compete with Nintendo and Sony back in 1995?.
    haha thats true

  4. #24
    DCEmu Legend Cap'n 1time's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Right behind you...
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,547
    Rep Power
    121

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DCDayDreamer
    That is really the soultion to all the problems but not possible (yet!!!), to do such a thing would surely require the game rom source before attempting anything. ROM streaming has been explored in the past without any posted positive results anywhere on the web, who knows, it might happen one day - who'd have thought Microsoft making a game console to compete with Nintendo and Sony back in 1995?.
    wow.. thats an interesting idea... How it would be done... i dunno.. but id love to see that happen.

  5. #25
    DCEmu Newbie WSOUNitePirate895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    70
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1timeuser
    wow.. thats an interesting idea... How it would be done... i dunno.. but id love to see that happen.
    If someone could "someday" work on this type of Rom-->ISO project, it could be used on many other emulators (or to make new stable emulators), resulting in possibly getting better FPS on the emulators that normaly use the "Load all the ROM-->RaM methood" which = to slow, unstable and with limited Ram, another methood must be desinged

  6. #26
    Dream Coder
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Age
    38
    Posts
    4,675
    Rep Power
    50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vchat20
    although fair use law doesnt allow backups on different forms of media (original cartridge backed up to a rom file), id say that you are morally in the right to own a rom if you own the original cart.

    atleast that's imho.
    it IS legal. that is the exact meaning of fair use in this case.

    as for rom-> iso, that is simply impossible, it doesnt work that way. it WOULD however be possible to selectively load segments of a rom image if you know which ones are and arent used at any point, but that is more of an emulator issue than a rom issue(although i'm sure it would make it easier to split the rom into multiple files, but that wouldn't always work even though it gives me an interesting idea......)

  7. #27
    DCEmu Legend Cap'n 1time's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Right behind you...
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,547
    Rep Power
    121

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by quzar
    it IS legal. that is the exact meaning of fair use in this case.

    as for rom-> iso, that is simply impossible, it doesnt work that way. it WOULD however be possible to selectively load segments of a rom image if you know which ones are and arent used at any point, but that is more of an emulator issue than a rom issue(although i'm sure it would make it easier to split the rom into multiple files, but that wouldn't always work even though it gives me an interesting idea......)
    well.. i forget which n64 emulator it was.. but with a plugin, it was able to seperate certain textures and allowed you to place your own with a similare file name.

    It was made so that people could make hi def textures.. but if you deleted the image part of the rom and streamed the texture data in as needed, it might be possible to at least shrink a bit of the resources used at once. but that would be one hell of a process and would probably take alot out of the ram just for the instructions of replacing the textures to occure...

    thats all just a thought by the way.

    while you could probably use this meathod to stream media (i dont see why the same idea wouldnt work with sound) the problem in the end is always warez.

    you see, with that (if it did work) since every rom has differant files inside them, they would all have to be dissasemeled seperatly... so your now going to have a new distrobution of roms in a differant form. So new warezy sites will do this, and GOOD has to make a new list... blar. I dont dont think the DC has enough power to do this task anyways (if it were possible). but perhapes other systems (PS2, PSP, dare I say DS) could pull it off.

  8. #28
    DCEmu Legend Cap'n 1time's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Right behind you...
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,547
    Rep Power
    121

    Default

    Im double posting because I dont want that other thing getting too long.

    I just woke up and realized that what I said above still wouldnt be streaming. When the emulator with that specific video plugin loads the rom, the second thing it does is load thoes "hi def" textures all at once into the ram. So nope, it wouldnt work... but plugins like that would be key if streaming of rom images was ever made feasible.

  9. #29

    Default

    The problem i see of loading only some segments it's that the access to those requiered zones it's pretty much like random (not random but there's no logic sequence for the roms). If you're playing level 1, you could avoid loading all the uncommon data of the rest of the levels, but there's no way to know where is it

    Seems an insane testing until you get your rom running ok for each level of the game (and will need to do the same for every rom). And could be not enough needing to split more into each level. I don't see any worth of this, only to feel like if you where god :-) Then there's also the fact that you need to be a good coder, with an optimized emu in sh asm.

  10. #30
    DCEmu Legend Cap'n 1time's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Right behind you...
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,547
    Rep Power
    121

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bender
    The problem i see of loading only some segments it's that the access to those requiered zones it's pretty much like random (not random but there's no logic sequence for the roms). If you're playing level 1, you could avoid loading all the uncommon data of the rest of the levels, but there's no way to know where is it

    Seems an insane testing until you get your rom running ok for each level of the game (and will need to do the same for every rom). And could be not enough needing to split more into each level. I don't see any worth of this, only to feel like if you where god :-) Then there's also the fact that you need to be a good coder, with an optimized emu in sh asm.
    I personally think it would be much easier just to load the base stuff into ram and stream textures, sound, and models (if thats possible) into ram.. once again, its never been done and i have no idea how anyone would get started.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •